RSS icon Subscribe to our "new posts" feed in a reader | RSS icon Subscribe to our "forum news" in a reader

IIH International Support Forum. Support. Advice. Information. Set up a direct debit JustGiving

IIH Support Forum
April 17, 2014, 06:41:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Swollen Tummy After LP Shunt Operation  (Read 4513 times)
Karen12
Hypothalamus

« on: December 30, 2011, 01:18:14 PM »

Hello Everyone,

Me AGAIN!!  Sorry about all these questions I keep asking, but Im new to all this shunt business so I need some guidance and re-assurance.

Was wondering if it was normal to have quite a swollen tummy around where the shunt was inserted?  I had the operation on 19 Dec, so its not been two weeks yet, but my stomach is still pretty swollen since the operation.  I can't get any jeans or normal trousers on - only joggers! (my new year outfit is going to look amazing, isnt it!??)

I know its still early days so Im sure the swelling is fine, but I just wanted to check it was normal.  As how do I know if its still just swelling from the operation or perhaps something more serious like the fluid collecting in my stomch and not draining away properly.

Thanks
Karen
LG
Plexus

« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 01:32:21 PM »

I was in joggers for about 3/4 weeks after my original op

I'd say the swelling is normal you've been poked, prodded and pulled about quite a bit.

If it's fluid collecting in your stomach it'll be hard (mines was like a golf ball under the skin)

However, if in doubt give the surgeon a ring

Lilias xx

Posts by members, moderators and admins are not considered medical advice and no guarantee is made against accuracy. Please see your doctor before taking advice found on the internet.
sezza122
Thalamus

Hi all xx

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2011, 02:17:46 PM »